Julius Answer vs AIRA: pricing and features compared
AIRA sells per-call AI receptionist plans from $24.95 a month, each with a free number, a built-in CRM and 31 languages. Julius Answer by DealsFlow bills call minutes, books into your calendar on every plan and starts with a free trial.
Updated · By the Julius Answer team at DealsFlow
AIRA charges per call, from $24.95 a month for 30 calls as listed on its pricing page on October 19, 2026, and every plan includes a free number, a built-in CRM, a knowledge base, call transfers and 31 languages; its plans differ in calls and support. Julius Answer by DealsFlow charges for call minutes, from $79 for 300 minutes, books appointments into your calendar on every plan and starts with a 7-day free trial. AIRA costs less at low volume and with long calls; Julius Answer can cost less when calls are short and frequent, and suits owners who want to try it on real calls before paying.
How do Julius Answer and AIRA compare?
Both include a CRM and the same core features on every plan. They differ in the billing unit, what the pricing page states about booking and trials, and what changes between tiers. The table uses only what each company publishes.
| Feature | Julius Answer | AIRA |
|---|---|---|
| Billing unit | Call minutes; each call counts in whole minutes, rounded up | "Per call, not per minute" |
| Plans | Starter: $79/month for 300 minutes. Pro: $199 for 1,000. Business: $399 for 3,000 | Starter: $24.95/month for 30 calls. Premium: $59.95 for 90. Pro: $159.95 for 300. Scale: $299 for 600 |
| Going over | Extra minute packs from $25 for 100 minutes; packs never expire | $1.50 a call (Starter), $1.00 (Premium), $0.75 (Pro), $0.70 (Scale) |
| Annual billing | Two months free (about 17% off): $65.83, $165.83 and $332.50 a month | A "Save 20%" toggle; annual prices not shown |
| Free trial | 7 days with up to 150 call minutes; a card is added at the start, nothing is charged until the trial ends | None mentioned on the pricing page |
| What changes by plan | Only minutes and calls answered at once | Calls and support: chat and email on Starter and Premium, priority support on Pro and Scale |
| Phone number | A local number in your area code on every plan, or keep yours and forward calls | A free number on every plan |
| Booking | Offers up to three open times; you confirm the caller's pick with one tap. Google Calendar, or a calendar link for Apple Calendar and Outlook | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Transfers | Puts callers through to the right person on your team; takes a message if nobody can take it | Call transfers on every plan |
| CRM | Built-in: client records with calls, bookings, tasks and notes; plain-English questions; CSV export | Built-in CRM on every plan |
| Answers from | Your business information; questions it can't answer are saved so you can answer them once | A knowledge base on every plan |
| Integrations | Slack alerts, Zapier, Make and signed webhooks | "54+ integrations via Zapier" |
| Spam | Handles sales pitches, robocalls and wrong numbers without ringing your team; blocks numbers you block. Every answered call counts toward minutes | Spam filtering on every plan; whether filtered calls count is not stated |
| Texting callers | After US carrier registration, to callers who agree | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Languages | American English; replies in Spanish or another language when the caller speaks it | "31 languages" |
| Contract | Monthly; cancel anytime in the console | "No long-term contracts"; "Cancel anytime" |
| Calls answered at once | 1 (Starter), 3 (Pro), 10 (Business) | Not stated on the pricing page |
AIRA's four tiers carry the same prices, call allowances and overage rates as Upfirst's published tiers, as listed on October 19, 2026. The two pages list different inclusions, so compare features rather than price between those two; our Upfirst comparison covers the other side. Julius Answer's current plans are on the pricing page.
What would each cost at 75 and 300 calls a month?
With 3-minute calls, AIRA costs less at both volumes: $59.95 against Julius Answer's $79 at 75 calls, and $159.95 against $199 at 300 calls.
Assumptions: each call runs 3 minutes after rounding up (only Julius Answer's cost depends on length), monthly billing because AIRA doesn't show annual prices, and the cheapest mix of plan and overage on each side.
| Service | 75 calls a month | 300 calls a month |
|---|---|---|
| Julius Answer | 75 × 3 = 225 minutes, within Starter's 300: $79 | 300 × 3 = 900 minutes, within Pro's 1,000: $199 |
| AIRA | Premium, 90 calls included: $59.95 (Starter: $24.95 + 45 × $1.50 = $92.45) | Pro, 300 calls included: $159.95 (Premium: $59.95 + 210 × $1.00 = $269.95) |
Busy lines with short calls reverse the order. At 450 calls a month of 2 minutes each, Julius Answer uses 450 × 2 = 900 minutes, within Pro's 1,000, for $199. AIRA's cheapest option is Pro plus overage: $159.95 + 150 × $0.75 = $272.45, or Scale at $299. Long calls push the other way: AIRA's price per call doesn't change with length, while every extra minute counts on Julius Answer.
Where AIRA is the better choice
AIRA is the better choice for low call volumes, long calls, many languages, or a business that wants marketing services from the same company.
- Lowest entry price. $24.95 a month for 30 calls, as listed on October 19, 2026, against Julius Answer's $79 Starter plan.
- Long calls. A per-call price stays the same whether the caller talks for one minute or ten.
- A lot included at every tier. A free number, transfers, spam filtering, a CRM, a knowledge base, recordings and transcripts on Starter as well as Scale.
- Languages. AIRA lists 31.
- More than a receptionist. AIRA describes itself as selling "AI agents that run your business," with AI Search, Lead Conversion and Paid Campaigns products alongside the receptionist.
- Annual discount. The pricing page offers 20% off for annual billing, though it doesn't show the annual prices.
Where Julius Answer fits better
Julius Answer fits a business that books appointments by phone, gets many short calls, and wants to test the receptionist on its own calls before paying.
- Booking stated on every plan. It checks your open times, offers up to three and books the caller's pick for your one-tap confirmation; with Google Calendar connected it never offers a time you're busy.
- A trial on real calls. 7 days with up to 150 call minutes, and nothing is charged until the trial ends.
- Short, frequent calls. Per-minute billing means quick questions use little of the plan.
- A CRM you can ask. Questions such as "Which callers asked about weekend hours?" get answered from your call records, and call-back promises turn into tasks with due times.
- Setup by conversation. The setup assistant in the console can change any setting, pick your number and walk you through call forwarding.
- Stated limits. Calls answered at the same time: 1 on Starter, 3 on Pro and 10 on Business.
- Alerts where you work. Email and Slack alerts for urgent messages, booking requests, missed transfers and promises coming due, plus signed webhooks for Zapier or Make.
What Julius Answer does not offer: HIPAA compliance or BAAs, SOC 2, live human agents, outbound sales calling or a free plan. If one of those is a must, AIRA or another service may suit you better.
Switching from AIRA to Julius Answer
AIRA says you can cancel anytime, so you can set up Julius Answer first and move calls once your test calls sound right.
Sign up
Create your account on the website, then add a card in the console: that starts the 7-day free trial, and nothing is charged until it ends. A local number in your area code comes with every plan.
Bring your answers over
Give the setup assistant what your AIRA knowledge base covered: services, prices you share, hours, policies and who takes which calls.
Forward your calls
Send all calls, or only unanswered or busy ones, to Julius Answer. See how to forward business calls.
Try it on your own calls first
Start a 7-day free trial of Julius Answer and see the minutes your calls really use.
Frequently asked questions
How much does AIRA cost?
As listed on AIRA's pricing page on October 19, 2026: Starter is $24.95 a month for 30 calls, Premium $59.95 for 90, Pro $159.95 for 300 and Scale $299 for 600. Extra calls cost $1.50, $1.00, $0.75 and $0.70 each. The page shows a "Save 20%" annual toggle but no annual prices. Check AIRA's site for current prices.
Does AIRA have a free trial?
AIRA's pricing page doesn't mention a trial, as checked on October 19, 2026; ask AIRA directly. Julius Answer starts every plan with a 7-day free trial that includes up to 150 call minutes.
Can AIRA book appointments or text callers?
AIRA's pricing page doesn't state calendar booking or SMS, so confirm both with AIRA if you need them. Julius Answer books into open times on every plan, with Google Calendar or a calendar link for Apple Calendar and Outlook, and texts callers who agree once your business is registered with US carriers.
Are AIRA's prices the same as Upfirst's?
Yes, as published on October 19, 2026: both list $24.95 for 30 calls, $59.95 for 90, $159.95 for 300 and $299 for 600, with the same overage rates. What each lists as included differs; see Julius Answer vs Upfirst.
Do AIRA and Julius Answer both include a CRM?
Yes. AIRA lists a built-in CRM on every plan. Julius Answer's built-in CRM turns every caller into a client record with calls, bookings, tasks and notes, lets you ask questions about your calls in plain English, and exports to CSV.
Which is cheaper, AIRA or Julius Answer?
AIRA, in most of our examples. With 3-minute calls it comes to $59.95 at 75 calls a month against $79 for Julius Answer, and $159.95 at 300 calls against $199. With 450 two-minute calls the order flips: $272.45 on AIRA against $199 on Julius Answer.
Sources
- AI Receptionist Pricing: 4 Plans from $24.95/mo, Aira Inc., accessed October 19, 2026
- Upfirst pricing, Upfirst, accessed October 19, 2026
Checked October 19, 2026. Third-party prices and features change; check the vendor before you buy.