Cheapest AI answering services in 2026 (and is there a free one?)

There is one free plan and five paid plans under $50 a month. Which one costs you least depends on how many calls you get, how long they last, and what the cheap plan leaves out.

Updated · By the Julius Answer team at DealsFlow

Disclosure: we make Julius Answer by DealsFlow, one of the services on this page. Its $79 Starter plan is not the cheapest entry plan here, and we say below where it fits and where another service will cost you less. Every other price comes from the vendor's own pricing page as listed on October 19, 2026. Prices change, so check before you buy.

The cheapest AI answering service in 2026 is Smith.ai's Free plan: $0 for 25 AI-answered calls a month, then $3.00 a call, as listed on October 19, 2026. The cheapest paid plans are Upfirst and AIRA at $24.95 a month for 30 calls (Upfirst is $20 a month billed annually), Dialzara at $29 for 60 minutes, and Rosie and Trillet at $49 for 250 and 150 minutes. The cheapest choice changes with volume: in our worked example, Smith.ai Free wins at 30 calls a month, Rosie at 100 and Goodcall at 300.

Key facts

  • One free plan among the vendors we checked: Smith.ai Free, 25 calls a month. Other "free" offers are trials, test agents or money-back guarantees.
  • Five paid plans cost under $50 a month: Upfirst, AIRA, Dialzara, Rosie and Trillet.
  • Entry price is a poor guide: at 100 calls a month our example ranges from $49 to $212.50 across named plans.
  • Julius Answer starts at $79 and is not the cheapest at any of the three volumes in our example.

Is there a free AI receptionist?

Yes, one: Smith.ai's Free AI Receptionist plan answers up to 25 calls a month at no charge, according to its pricing page on October 19, 2026. Every call after the 25th costs $3.00, so the plan stays free only for a business that gets fewer than one call a day.

The Free plan is not stripped down: Smith.ai lists 24/7 AI answering, recordings, transcripts and summaries, AI scheduling with Calendly and others, and native integrations such as Clio and Zapier. Every answered call counts toward the 25 by default, though known spammers are filtered first. Onboarding and live support start on the $150 Pro plan, and cancelling takes 30 days' notice.

Everything else that says "free" is a way to try before paying, not a plan you keep:

  • Goodcall: build and test a demo agent for free, and pay once you connect a phone number.
  • Upfirst: a 14-day trial with full plan features, no credit card, and real forwarded calls.
  • Dialzara, Rosie and Frontdesk: 7-day free trials.
  • Trillet: a 28-day money-back guarantee on its receptionist plan; no trial is stated for it.
  • Julius Answer: a 7-day free trial with up to 150 call minutes on any plan. A card is added at the start and nothing is charged until the trial ends. There is no free plan.

The lowest-priced paid AI answering services

Upfirst and AIRA have the lowest paid entry price at $24.95 a month, then Dialzara at $29 and Rosie and Trillet at $49. The table adds a few dearer plans for reference.

Cheapest paid plan of each vendor, as listed on October 19, 2026 (USD a month; effective rate is our arithmetic)
Vendor and planPriceIncludedEffective rateOver the allowanceWorth knowing
Upfirst Starter$24.95 ($20 annual)30 calls$0.83 a call$1.50 a callTransfers, scheduling and texting during the call on every plan; white-glove onboarding from Pro
AIRA Starter$24.9530 calls$0.83 a call$1.50 a callBuilt-in CRM and transfers; booking and texting not stated on the pricing page
Dialzara Business Lite$2960 minutes$0.48 a minute$0.48 a minuteBooking, routing and calendar integration; a 1:1 setup call
Rosie Professional$49250 minutes$0.20 a minuteNot stated; Quo reports an upgrade to the next planTexts an appointment link instead of booking; no transfers listed
Trillet AI Receptionist$49150 minutes$0.33 a minute$0.20 a minuteBooks into your calendar; CRM integration "Calendars only"
Goodcall Starter$79100 unique callers$0.79 a caller$0.79 a caller1 team seat and 30 days of call history
Julius Answer Starter (ours)$79300 minutes$0.26 a minutePacks: $25 for 100 minutesEvery feature included; calls at once: 1
Frontdesk Business-in-a-Box$99 ($79 annual)200 minutes$0.50 a minuteAbout $0.25 a minute in creditsAlso 100 chatbot conversations, 400 texts and 20 outbound calls a day
Smith.ai AI Pro$15075 calls$2.00 a call$2.50 a callAdds onboarding and live support to the Free plan

Rosie's own page doesn't state overage; the note comes from Quo's September 2026 write-up of its pricing.

What is the best AI answering service under $50 a month?

Under $50 a month the choice is Upfirst, AIRA, Dialzara, Rosie, Trillet or Smith.ai's Free plan. Each gives up something different, so pick the limit your calls can live with.

  • Most features for the least money: Upfirst Starter, $24.95. Transfers, scheduling, texting during the call and "35+ languages" are on every plan, but 30 calls is about seven a week.
  • Most minutes for the money: Rosie Professional, 250 minutes for $49. It texts callers a booking link rather than booking on your calendar and lists no transfers; both start on its $149 Scale plan.
  • Booking on a small budget: Trillet, $49 for 150 minutes, books into your calendar and is aimed at solo owner-operators. Dialzara Lite, $29, includes booking, routing and a setup call, but 60 minutes covers about 24 calls of 2.5 minutes (our arithmetic).
  • A CRM at the entry price: AIRA Starter, $24.95 for 30 calls, includes a built-in CRM and a free number; its pricing page doesn't mention calendar booking.
  • Fewer than 25 calls a month: Smith.ai Free, which costs nothing until call 26.

Julius Answer is not in this group: its smallest plan is $79 a month.

Per call or per minute: what each costs at 30, 100 and 300 calls

Per-call plans cost least at low volume and with long calls; per-minute plans pull ahead as short calls add up. Here is the same month priced on each vendor's cheapest option.

Assumptions, all ours:

  • Calls average 2 minutes of talk. Rounded up to whole minutes, that bills as about 2.5 minutes a call on per-minute plans: 75, 250 and 750 minutes at the three volumes. Not every vendor states its rounding, so we used the same rule for all.
  • No spam, wrong numbers or very short calls, and monthly billing.
  • Goodcall: each caller rings 1.5 times a month, the ratio its own estimate implies (about 150 calls for 100 customers).
  • Rosie: months over 250 minutes are priced at its $149 Scale plan, because Quo reports Rosie moves you up a plan rather than charging overage.
Cheapest monthly cost at three call volumes (prices as listed on October 19, 2026; totals are our arithmetic)
Vendor (billing)30 calls100 calls300 calls
Smith.ai AI (per call)Free: 5 × $3.00 = $15.00Pro: $150 + 25 × $2.50 = $212.50Enterprise, 300 calls: $500
Upfirst or AIRA (per call)Starter: $24.95Premium: $59.95 + 10 × $1.00 = $69.95Pro, 300 calls: $159.95
Dialzara (per minute)Lite: $29 + 15 × $0.48 = $36.20Pro: $99 + 30 × $0.45 = $112.50Plus: $199 + 250 × $0.40 = $299.00
Trillet (per minute)150 minutes included: $49.00$49 + 100 × $0.20 = $69.00$49 + 600 × $0.20 = $169.00
Rosie (per minute)Professional: $49Professional, 250 minutes: $49Scale: $149
Goodcall (per unique caller)20 callers, Starter: $7967 callers, Starter: $79200 callers, Growth: $129
Julius Answer (per minute; ours)75 minutes, within Starter's 300: $79250 minutes, within Starter's 300: $79750 minutes, within Pro's 1,000: $199

Per call, the cheapest option works out to $0.50 at 30 calls (Smith.ai Free), $0.49 at 100 (Rosie) and $0.43 at 300 (Goodcall). Smith.ai goes from cheapest to most expensive as volume grows, because its per-call rate stays high. Rosie's $49 month comes with the booking limits noted above, and Goodcall's $129 depends on repeat callers.

Call length moves only the per-minute rows. If your calls average 4 minutes (about 4.5 billed), Trillet's 100-call month rises from $69 to $109 ($49 + 300 × $0.20), while Upfirst's stays at $69.95. Our AI receptionist cost guide shows how to estimate your minutes.

Hidden costs that make a cheap plan expensive

The monthly price leaves out overage, rounding, which calls count, features held for higher tiers and the terms for leaving.

  • Overage. Going past the allowance is often dearer than moving up a plan. On Upfirst, 60 calls on Starter cost $24.95 + 30 × $1.50 = $69.95, more than Premium's $59.95 for 90 calls. Smith.ai's Free plan charges $3.00 for each call past 25.
  • Rounding. Julius Answer counts each call in whole minutes, rounded up, so a 70-second call counts as 2 minutes; Ruby's live service rounds the same way, according to its billing help page. Many AI pricing pages don't say how they round, so ask. Per-call plans charge a 20-second call the same as a 10-minute one unless, like Upfirst, they exclude short calls.
  • What counts. Upfirst doesn't bill spam, robocalls or silent calls, and Goodcall doesn't count spam or wrong numbers. Smith.ai counts every answered call by default. Julius Answer handles robocalls without ringing your team, but each call it answers uses minutes.
  • Features on higher tiers. Rosie's direct booking and transfers start at $149. Upfirst's white-glove onboarding starts at $159.95, its HIPAA BAAs are on Custom only, and each extra agent is $9.95 a month. Goodcall Starter includes one team seat and 30 days of call history.
  • Commitment. Annual billing lowers the monthly figure (20% off at Upfirst, "2 months free" at Rosie) but you pay a year ahead. Smith.ai's AI plans need 30 days' notice to cancel.
  • Unused minutes. Julius Answer's unused included minutes don't roll over to the next month, though extra-minute packs bought on top never expire.

When the cheapest plan isn't the cheapest

The cheapest plan is the one that costs least once you count the callers it fails to serve.

  • It only takes messages. Every message is a call you return later, and callers don't always pick up: Hiya's State of the Call 2026, a survey of more than 12,000 consumers in six countries, found that 86% of calls from unknown numbers go unanswered.
  • It can't book or transfer. A caller who wanted an appointment now may not wait. In CallRail's September 2025 survey of 1,000 US consumers, 21% said they immediately call another business when nobody answers.
  • Your volume is growing. Price the month you expect in three months, not the one you had last month, and compare overage against the next tier.
  • Calls arrive together. Check how many calls a plan answers at the same time; several of the pricing pages we checked don't say.

Where Julius Answer fits

Julius Answer's $79 Starter plan is not the cheapest entry plan: Smith.ai Free, Upfirst, AIRA, Dialzara, Rosie and Trillet all start lower, as listed on October 19, 2026. It fits a business with a few calls a day that wants booking, transfers, caller memory and a built-in CRM on its smallest plan rather than on a higher tier.

  • Starter covers about 5 three-minute calls each weekday over a 22-weekday month.
  • Every plan has every feature; plans differ only in minutes and calls answered at once (1 on Starter, 3 on Pro, 10 on Business).
  • Extra minutes come in packs from $25 for 100 that never expire, and you can switch plans in the console whenever your volume changes.
  • There is no free plan; paying yearly gives two months free.

If you get fewer than about 30 calls a month, Smith.ai's Free plan or Upfirst's and AIRA's $24.95 Starter plans will cost you less. For a side-by-side look, see Julius Answer vs Upfirst and Julius Answer vs AIRA.

See what your calls really cost

Start a 7-day free trial of Julius Answer and check your actual minutes before you choose a plan.

Frequently asked questions

Is Smith.ai's free AI receptionist plan really free?

Yes, up to 25 answered calls a month, as listed on Smith.ai's pricing page on October 19, 2026. Each call after that costs $3.00, every call the AI answers counts by default (known spammers are filtered first), and the plan is month to month with 30 days' notice to cancel.

What is the cheapest AI receptionist with a free trial?

Upfirst, at $24.95 a month for 30 calls, with a 14-day trial that needs no credit card and works with real forwarded calls. Dialzara ($29 for 60 minutes) and Rosie ($49 for 250 minutes) offer 7-day trials, and Trillet ($49 for 150 minutes) offers a 28-day money-back guarantee instead (all as listed on October 19, 2026).

Which AI answering service is cheapest for 100 calls a month?

In our worked example with 2-minute calls, Rosie Professional is cheapest at $49, followed by Trillet at $69 and Upfirst or AIRA at $69.95. Rosie's $49 plan texts callers an appointment link rather than booking on your calendar, so check that it covers what your calls need.

Is per-call or per-minute billing cheaper?

Per-call billing is usually cheaper when you get few calls or long calls, because a 10-minute call costs the same as a 1-minute one. Per-minute billing is usually cheaper when you get many short calls. Count a typical month's calls and average length, then price both.

Does Julius Answer have a free plan?

No. Julius Answer plans start at $79 a month, and every plan starts with a 7-day free trial with up to 150 call minutes. A card is added at the start and nothing is charged until the trial ends; you can cancel in the console before then.

Do spam calls count against an AI receptionist plan?

It depends on the vendor. Upfirst doesn't bill spam, calls under 15 seconds or silent calls; Goodcall doesn't count spam or wrong numbers; Smith.ai counts every answered call by default but filters known spammers and lets you remove up to 10% a cycle. Julius Answer counts every call it answers, so block numbers that keep calling.

Is a cheap AI receptionist good enough for a small business?

It can be, if the plan you buy does what your calls need. Check that it books into your calendar, transfers to your team, states its overage rate and lets you test it on real calls. A plan that only takes messages leaves you returning every call yourself.

Sources

  1. Smith.ai AI Receptionist pricing, Smith.ai, accessed October 19, 2026
  2. Upfirst pricing, Upfirst, accessed October 19, 2026
  3. AI Receptionist Pricing: 4 Plans from $24.95/mo, Aira Inc., accessed October 19, 2026
  4. Dialzara pricing, Dialzara, accessed October 19, 2026
  5. Rosie pricing, Rosie, accessed October 19, 2026
  6. Rosie AI pricing, Quo, September 22, 2026
  7. Trillet pricing, Trillet, accessed October 19, 2026
  8. Goodcall pricing, Goodcall, accessed October 19, 2026
  9. Frontdesk pricing, Frontdesk (AI Front Desk, Inc.), accessed October 19, 2026
  10. Ruby billing basics, Ruby Help Center, accessed October 19, 2026
  11. Missed calls cost businesses more than ever (survey of 1,000 US consumers), CallRail, September 25, 2025
  12. State of the Call 2026, Hiya, 2026

Checked October 19, 2026. Third-party prices and features change; check the vendor before you buy.